The Foundations of Ayurveda

Foundation I

Ayurveda does not focus on treating illness, but rather on avoiding its appearance, and/or freeing us from an already existing illness through a healthy lifestyle. According to Ayurveda, the universe, the human beings and in general everything surrounding us is composed of the five elements, or Mahabhutas: space (Aaskash), air (Vayu), fire (Agni), water (Jala) and earth (Pithvi). The elements are always present; however, they exist in different proportions creating balance within each person, which is why all treatments ought to be personalized.

Foundation II

Ayurveda distinguishes three principal causes for an imbalance between the three vital energies: Vatta, Pitta, and Kapha:

  • Weakening or worsening of the sensorial organs

  • Misguided use of the senses and spirit

  • Neglecting the influence that nature has on us

The three vital energies are called doshas, which form the constitution of each individual, are obtained through combining the five elements. By knowing the dominating doshas, treatments are specifically personalized to the individual, which aid in maintaining the three doshas stable.

Foundation III

The free flow of prana, derived from Sanskrit and refers to life force, is a requirement for good health. Massage is an efficient method for opening the energy blocks. Marmas are energy points which serve the energy channels called nadis. Marma points can be defined as anatomical points where veins, arteries, tendons, nerves, bones and joints come together; having receivers in the skin that relate them to certain organs and tissues.


The nadis can be stimulated and regulated through working on the energy points located on a superficial level. Out of the 72,000 nadis that the human body has, three are most important: pingala (masculine aspect of both men and women), ida (Feminine aspect of both men and women), and sushumna (balance between pingala and ida).

Chakras are seven centers of vital energy that are in charge of receiving and sending information. As physical reference, we can say the chakras are located on the ductless endocrine glands: reproductive glands, pancreas, adrenal gland, thymus, thyroid gland, pituitary gland and pineal gland. Each chakra corresponds to particular emotional and psychological patterns. By opening these energy centers through massage, yoga exercise and meditation, we achieve greater vitality and health.

Spiritual healing lore is not prescription, diagnosis or healthcare information

They are presented as spiritual supports to healing and other life issues. See a doctor or licensed medical practitioner for all health issues.